PDA

Просмотр полной версии : Threatened with Copyright infringement


Asylum
06.03.2008, 03:33
Our website has been threatened with copyright infringement and google has banned all of our sites as a result due to our affiliation with mp3fiesta.com

I received the following email today from the label of a few albums offered by mp3fiesta.com

Please remove our copyrighted material from your website. You do not have our permission to sell these mp3s: Shapeshifter DNA Activation 1,2,3 and 4 - and Shapeshifter The Odyssey. We have never recorded mp3s of any of our material at 320, and have certainly not offered complete albums worth of material like this. I repeat, you do not have our permission to offer these titles or any others on our label Visionary Music. Please remove them immediately. I do not wish to go any further with this matter. Lets resolve this now. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter. Gary Chambers Co-owner Visionary Music www.visionarymusic.com


As a result of both this email demand and google banning us entirely I am going to have to discontinue affiliation with mp3fiesta until a time that they can offer an explanation of who they are licensed by and how affiliates may make visitors/record labels aware that they are in fact legit. mp3fiesta does claim to be 100% legal and everything but I do not see any specifics.

So sorry it could have been a good thing but I am out :/

mavook
06.03.2008, 10:08
google cant ban you if you have valuable content on a pages. If u have only affilate links google will ban you.

Asylum
06.03.2008, 12:49
I have more than affiliate links for sure. They have dropped the sites pr and also disabled my adsense account with them stating that the affiliation is harmful to their advertisers. I consider the content from mp3fiesta to be valuable myself and if it is legit I am all for it but the label for the album I mentioned contacted me demanding I remove their content when it is mp3fiesta who has their content not I. I have added redirects blocking access to this specific content in question. I have added a contact link for reporting infringing content and am riding it out till tomorrow. If I do not hear from anyone else demanding removal of media that is copyright protected and unlicensed I may just continue with the service since I do feel that it is a valuable feature for our visitors.
Anyway have a good day/night.

Asylum
09.03.2008, 13:22
So coincidence or not you may decide but I removed the mp3fiesta affiliate site and within 12 hours Google had sent me a notice stating my account has been reinstated. Possible it is coincidence but this seems far from the case.
I do wonder very much why if mp3fiesta is in fact legit and everything why it is they have made no response to the forum post to handle PR(public relations) and their reputation. I also do not understand why it is that they have been contacted via 3 different email addresses yet fail to return any form of response. Could it be that silence is better than admission of guilt? I do sincerely hope that is not the case but it seems to be more evident. Just as well I am not going to take any chances and wont be comming round any more so you folks have a beer on me aight.

The copyright holder that sent me the email has contacted me again to ask that I forward his email onto the forum since he has not heard any response he hopes to be able to make contact this way but does not feel comfortable with signing up here. This is what he had to say.

they can surely lay any doubts to rest that have surfaced from this matter by simply stating that they made a mistake and removing these files:

http://www.mp3fiesta.com/dna_activation_level_one_cd1_album90142/
http://www.mp3fiesta.com/dna_activation_level_one_cd2_album90143/
http://www.mp3fiesta.com/dna_activation_level_one_cd3_album90144/
http://www.mp3fiesta.com/dna_activation_level_one_cd3_album90144/
http://www.mp3fiesta.com/the_odyssey_bio_energyfield_balancing_and_harmoniz ing_album90147/

As MP3fiesta management says that they are a legit service, it is curious to me that they will not answer my requests to remove these files from their site. All they would have to do is say- oops -sorry- don't know how that got past us- we are a legit service and will remove those links right away. I have emailed them repeatedly on all the 3 emails I could find

polarium@mail.ru
office@mp3fiesta.com
webmaster@mp3fiesta.com

All of my emails to them have been reserved, businesslike, and to the point. They have all been ignored. Why? This is a simple matter, and when it is done my issues with mp3fiesta.com will be over. I have no interest in interfering with whatever it is they say that they are doing. I am just stating the facts. Remove the files, and that is the end of it as far as I am concerned. Why the stubbornness and seeming refusal to remove these files? Why create any kind of hassle when this is such a simple thing to do. If they ignore this message on their forums that will be answer as well - won't it?

Юнга
09.03.2008, 15:27
Ребят, расскажите уже парню об особенностях российского лицензирования, преградах ко вступлению в ВТО и разницы в отношениях английского и испанского правительств тех времен к политику и приватиру сэру Фрэнсису Дрейку (Sir Francis Drake). :)
Чего за отношение к аффилиату такое? :)